In this the 3rd installment I thought I would focus on sticks, and some actual events that took place.
1. Broken Sticks (Rule 3.2 (a&b) Situation 6)
Some of you will have seen the Bobby Ryan goal from a few years ago. This is the goal where Koivu of Minnesota steals Ryan's stick after he has dropped his own. Ryan then picks up Koivu's stick and scores a goal with it. Here is the video evidence for those of you who haven't seen it or want to see it again. (Bobby Ryan Goal)
Great video and classic reaction by Bobby Ryan after scoring the goal...holding up the stick.
But was it a legal goal? I'm not well enough versed on NHL rules only to say, but at the time Colin Campbell said the goal shouldn't have counted, so I'll take him at his word.
That said, what about Hockey Canada? What do they say about a situation like this?
Although that specific situation is not covered in the rules we can use a different situation to form our answer.
Rule 3.2 (a&b) Situation 6
#6 of Team 'A' has lost or dropped her stick. #10 of Team 'A' hands her stick to #6. After a period of time, with play still in progress, #6 hands the stick back to #10 who has still not received another stick. This is perfectly legal. Following the 2nd exchange of stick #6 picks up her stick which is lying on the ice.
No penalty to #6
The only player who can pick up the stick on the ice and use it to participate in the play is the original player who dropped it, regardless if she has played with another stick in the meantime.
>> So based on that reasoning we can say that under Hockey Canada rules Bobby Ryan is not entitled to pick up Koivu's stick, and therefore should be penalized for 'Illegally Receiving A Stick'. The goal would not count. Obviously Koivu should have received a penalty as well for 'Holding the Stick'.
2. Broken Sticks // Throwing Stick or Object (Rule 3.2 (c) // Rule 9.8
Take a look at this video and see if you can make the correct call(s) (IIHF Women's Hockey Canada vs USA)
There is a lot going on here so let's take it one step at a time.
a) Defenceman hands her stick to goaltender who participates in the play with the stick.
Rule 3.2 (c) >
A goaltender who breaks or loses her stick may use the stick of a player handed to her by a player until the next stoppage of play. In this case the players stick would not be considered an illegal stick. A goaltender may not continue to play with a broken stick of any kind.
>> So that's pretty obvious - No penalty on that particular play.
b) The video cuts away and back quickly but what happens next is - The play comes back into the end. The puck goes around the net, the goalie slides the players stick behind the net toward the puck on the other side so the defenceman can pick it can make the rush with the other player who picks up the puck.
For our purposes here I won't quote all the rules used to determine the correct decision. All the answers can be found under Rule 3.2 (Broken Sticks) and 9.8 (Throwing Stick or Object)
1st - Sliding the stick is treated the same as throwing the stick, which is not legal. Minor penalty (or Penalty Shot or Major + GM). In this case (in my opinion) the stick was thrown at the puck or puck carrier in the defending zone, so a penalty shot would be awarded - to Canada in this case. Even though Canada is not even near the puck at the time.
2nd - Player who picks up the stick would receive a minor penalty for 'Illegally Receiving a Stick'
So a play that had no Canada players within camera view of the puck results in a penalty shot for Canada and a 2 minute power play.
A couple other items to mention. If the goaltender had dropped the stick and kicked it to the defenceman no penalty shot nor minor penalty would be called unless stick that was kicked interferes with the play. The same would be true if the goaltender dropped the players stick pick up her own stick and shot the stick to the defenceman.
And now you know.
If you have any questions that you'd like to see answered in this article please email them to me at [email protected], and I'll do my best to include them.